10 weeks 1 day – it’s moving!

We went to the clinic yesterday for a scan in preparation of the NT (nuchal translucency) scan in 2 weeks time. They took 2 blood tests, one standard one to look at the hormones that might indicate some issues and one test that is called the Harmony test.

We were lucky, as our clinic currently trials this (£400) test for free. This test looks at baby’s DNA in my blood and can therefore check for trisomy 13, 18 and 21. It is 99% exact and might safe people having to go through and Amniocentesis or CVS. For us it’s just added reassurance.

Because this was our first time at the clinic, they did a viability scan which was absolutely mesmerizing. Our little baby has changed so much in the last 2 weeks. It has arms and legs and wiggles about. It waved at us with the right arm and bounced up and down inside me.

And we heard the heartbeat. WOW! We were both in absolute awe, it’s unbelievable that I have this tiny little person inside me and it’s moving.

We could even see the blood flow from the umbilical cord to the heart of the baby marked as blue and red for incoming and outgoing blood. All in all the baby looks very good and measures exactly 10 weeks 1 day. I only realised now that I was one day ahead of myself. Fertilisation happend on the 11th of Feb – which is day 0.

So the baby is well. I am okish, the colitis is still buggin me, but there is not much I can do about it. Apart from that I feel well and I really start showing now. The first (slightly inconsiderate) people have asked me dead on if I am pregnant. What can you say?

Here some photos of our little wiggle worm:

ImageImage

You can see the little arm waving behind the big head 😉

2 thoughts on “10 weeks 1 day – it’s moving!

Leave a Reply

